Cos. Tyrone, Donegal, Londonderry & Fermanagh Ireland Genealogy Research

Official Website of the Mailing List


Index to the Tithe Applotment Book, Trory Parish, Co. Fermanagh, Northern Ireland 1825

PRONI Ref: FIN 5A/265
Extracted from FHL Film #258469
Transcribed, Compiled and Submitted by
Len Swindley, Melbourne, Australia


Tithe was a tax on all agricultural land (originally one tenth of the produce) excepting only church lands, glebes and urban areas and was paid by leaseholders and occupiers of all religious denominations to the clergy of the Established Church of Ireland. There was growing resentment against this tax, especially by Presbyterians and Catholics, particularly in the period of distress after 1815 and the government was forced to give way and introduce the Tithe Composition Act 1823 which replaced payment in kind by payment in cash.

In order to effect this change, all agricultural land across the country was required to be surveyed and applotted, or valued. During the period 1823 to 1837, a Tithe Applotment Survey was made in each civil parish across the whole of Ireland to determine the value of tithe payable by different landholders. Two people were appointed by each parish to carry out this assessment. The material was arranged by civil parish and townland in volumes known as TITHE APPLOTMENT BOOKS.

In some parishes more than one survey was taken, whilst in others the manuscript has not survived. The books for all Ireland, compiled between 1823 and 1837, are now deposited in the National Archives of Ireland, Dublin and Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI).

PRONI holds the tithe books for all but 31 of the 273 parishes then surveyed in Northern Ireland. These tithe books are arranged by townland and record the names of leaseholders, the area of their farm subject to tithe, sometimes the quality of the land and an overall valuation and occasionally the names of landlords. Researchers should be aware that cottiers who did not hold land are not recorded, and unaccountably, some types of land were passed over entirely; a field of potatoes attracted a tithe payment in one parish, but not in that adjoining.

Those researchers who are fortunate to locate a forebear in the Tithe Applotment Books may find it possible to take their research back a further generation prior to Griffiths Valuation.



Ballycassidy, Buninubber, Car Island, Cloghbally, Conerick, Derryargon, Derrygore, Derryinch, Drumcoo, Drumgarrow, Drummackilowney, Ferny Island, Gublusk, Hay Island, Kilmacormick, Laragh, Long Island, Mossfield or Urbal, Oghill, Paris Island Big, Ring, Rockfield, Rossahilly, Shanmullagh, Srahenny, Thornhill Glebe, Trasna Island, Trory, Tully, Tullyavy, Tullylone


(As recorded in the Tithe Applotment Book)

Ballycassidy, Car Island, Cloghbolley, Conrick, Creenahan, Derryargin, Derrygore, Derryinch, Drumcoo, Drumgarrow, Kilmacormick, Laragh, Ring, Rossahilly, Shanmulla, Shryerry & Long Island, Tresna Island, Trory, Tullyavey, Tullyloan, Urbil



ARCHDALE Edward, Esqr. Tullyloan
ARCHDALE Edwd., Esqr. Rossahilly
ARCHDALL Edwd., Esqr. Shanmulla
ARMSTRONG James Shanmulla
ARMSTRONG Thomas Derryinch
ARMSTRONG Thomas Tullyavey
ARMSTRONG William Shanmulla
BALL Francis Drumcoo
BALL Mr. William Kilmacormick
BALL Richard Drumcoo
BEGGS Matthew Laragh
BETTY Samuel Kilmacormick
BETTY Widow Laragh
BOYLE Daniel Urbil
BOYLE Phelix Conrick
BRADY Widow Kilmacormick
BRENAN Hugh Shanmulla
BYERS James Drumgarrow
CAMPBELL David Trory
CAMPBELL James Ballycassidy
CAMPBELL Thomas Ballycassidy
CAMPBELL Thomas Laragh
CAMPBELL Thos. Shanmulla
CARRAN John Conrick
CARRIN John Conrick
CARROL Anne Conrick
CASSIDY Molush Shanmulla
CONNOR Charles Tresna Island
CORRIN Felix Conrick
CORRIN Hugh Conrick
CORRIN Owen, Junr. Conrick
CORRIN Owen, Senr. Conrick
CORRIN Patk. Conrick
CORRIN Patk. Conrick
CORRIN Philip Conrick
CORRIN Thomas Conrick
CORRIN William Conrick
CROZIER James Ring
CROZIER John Trory
CROZIER Ralph Derryargin
CROZIER Robert Ring
CROZIER Robert Trory
CROZIER Thomas Ring
DOORIS Thomas Urbil
DOUGHERTY Bernard Shanmulla
DOWD James Derrygore
EARLY Thomas Kilmacormick
EDWARDS Simon Shryerry & Long Island
FARREL William Urbil
FRAZER Alexander Shanmulla
FRAZER Alexr. Ballycassidy
FRITH Alexander Ring
FRITH Alexr. Conrick
FRITH John Kilmacormick
FRITH John Henry Drumcoo
FRITH Mrs. James, widow Derryinch
FRITH Richard Derryinch
FRITH Samuel Drumcoo
FRITH William Derrygore
GRAHAM Christr. Trory
GRAHAM James Trory
GRAHAM John Trory
GRAHAM Robert Trory
GRAHAM Thomas Trory
GRAINGER ….. Shanmulla
GREENE John Kilmacormick
GUY John Ring
HALL William Rossahilly
HALLIDAY John Laragh
HAMILTON Widow Ballycassidy
HENDERSON Samuel Shanmulla
HICKS James Rossahilly
HILLARD George Tullyavey
HILLARD Guy Tullyavey
HILLARD John Tullyavey
HILLARD John, Junr. Tullyavey
HILLARD Noble Tullyavey
HILLARD William Tullyavey
HUDSON Alexr. Trory
HUMPHRYS Clare Trory
HURST John Kilmacormick
IRVINE John Shanmulla
IRWIN Christr. Kilmacormick
IRWIN George Derryinch
IRWIN Mrs. Acheson widow Derrygore
IRWIN Robert Cloghbolley
IRWIN Robert Rossahilly
IRWIN Robert Tullyavey
IRWIN William Cloghbolley
JERVIS Robert Laragh
JOHNSTON David Shanmulla
JOHNSTON Francis Laragh
JOHNSTON George Laragh
JOHNSTON James Shanmulla
JOHNSTON James Shryerry & Long Island
JOHNSTON John Shanmulla
JOHNSTON Widow Laragh
JOHNSTON Widow Shanmulla
JOHNSTON William Drumgarrow
KELLY John Ring
KENNEDY James Shanmulla
KEOWN James Shanmulla
KERNAHAN William Shanmulla
KEWS M. Laragh
LITTLE Johnston Trory
LITTLE Thomas Trory
LOGAN Robert Derryargin
MACARTNEY James Kilmacormick
MACARTNEY John Kilmacormick
MAGEE Maxwell Shanmulla
MAGINNEY Farrel Ring
McALOON Anthony Shanmulla
McALOON Denis Shanmulla
McBREARTY Christopher Derrygore
McCREERY Jas. Ballycassidy
McDONALD Edward Kilmacormick
McDONALD John Ballycassidy
McDONALD John Shanmulla
McGANDY Edward Derryinch
McHUGH ….. Tullyavey
McHUGH Thomas Rossahilly
McKENNA Hugh Laragh
McKEOWN Henry Car Island
McKEW Bernard Shanmulla
McMAHON Bernard Cloghbolley
McMAHON Hugh Cloghbolley
McMAHON John Cloghbolley
McMANUS John Conrick
McMANUS John Kilmacormick
McMULCHAN John Ballycassidy
McMULCHAN John Laragh
McNAMEE Robert Shanmulla
McQUADE Danl. Drumgarrow
McQUADE William Drumgarrow
MULHERN Thomas Kilmacormick
NELSON James Drumgarrow
NELSON Thomas Drumgarrow
NIXON Robert Conrick
NOWLANS Wm. Rossahilly
POTTERS James Tullyavey
REILY M. Laragh
RENNICK Major (in his own hands) Derryargin
ROBINSON John Ballycassidy
ROBINSON William Tullyavey
SCALLEN George Cloghbolley
SCOLLEN John Shanmulla
SCOLLEN Widow Urbil
SCOTT Baptist Derryargin
SEERY Edward Conrick
SEERY Mathew Conrick
SHEELS Charles Derrygore
SHEENAN Patrick Conrick
SPRATT James Shryerry & Long Island
SPRATT John Shryerry & Long Island
SPRATT Thomas Shryerry & Long Island
SPRATT William Shryerry & Long Island
STEELE James Ballycassidy
SWEENY Daniel Urbil
SWEENY Myles Urbil
THOMPSON Robert Trory
TOLEN Edward Derrygore
VANCE Daniel Drumgarrow
YOUNG Rev. T. R. Creenahan
YOUNG Robert Trory
YOUNG Robt. Rossahilly

Commissioners: EDWD. ARCHDALL & J. IRWIN