Cos. Tyrone, Donegal, Londonderry & Fermanagh Ireland Genealogy Research

Official Website of the Mailing List


Election of Poor Law Guardinans for Strabane Union, Co. Tyrone 1869-70

Extracted from the Londonderry Standard, March 31 1869
Transcribed, compiled and submitted by Len Swindley, Melbourne, Australia

Strabane Poor Law Union covered the following parishes in


Ardstraw (part) Camus (all), Donagheady (part), Leckpatrick (all) & Urney (part)


Clonleigh (all) Donaghmore (part) Raphoe (part) Raymoghy (part) Taughboyne (part) &

Urney (part)

The workhouse was situated in the town of Strabane

Extracted from the Londonderry Standard, March 31 1869

STRABANE BOARD OF GUARDIANS. – The annual election of Guardians for the Strabane Union has been completed, and the following is a list of the electoral divisions and the gentlemen who have been appointed to represent them during the year ending March 25th 1870:-


Co. Tyrone

Strabane John CARLIN Bridge End
Strabane William IRVINE Strabane
Camus Thomas BROWNE Drumnabuoy
Ballymagorry William McCREA Farm Hill, Strabane
Glenmornan John CRAIG Gorticrum
Dunalong John ALEXANDER Gortmessan, Bready
Mountcastle Francis O’NEILL Mountpleasant
Ballyneaner David WALKER Tyrconnelly
Dunamanagh Andrew BAIRD Aughtermoy
Douglasburn James FULTON Drumnahoe
Newtownstewart John HOOD Newtownstewart
Baronscourt David KILPATRICK Drumleggagh
Churchlands Samuel DUNNE Ardstraw Bridge
Altaclady Hugh AUCHINLECK Liscrevaghan
East Urney James BAIRD Inchenny
West Urney James CUNNINGHAM Cormakilty

Co. Donegal

Cloghard Jno. McCULLOUGH Tirnagoshog
Castlefin Robert McKINLEY Sessaghmore
Figart John GREGG Tullydonnell
Raphoe William SMITH Raphoe
Feddyglass Hugh LOWRY Drumfad
Trentaghmucklagh Joseph CHAMBERS Brockagh
St. Johnston James WILSON St. Johnston
Clonleigh North Alexander WEIR Ballindreat
Clonleigh South John WEIR Frendraught Lodge