Cos. Tyrone, Donegal, Londonderry & Fermanagh Ireland Genealogy Research

Official Website of the Mailing List

Moy, Co. Tyrone, Famine Relief Committee Acknowledgement of Donations, November 1846

Extracted from the Armagh Guardian
Transcribed, compiled and submitted by Len Swindley, Melbourne, Australia

[During the Great Famine 1845-49, Relief Committees were organised at the local level providing sustenance to the destitute and starving]


November 17 1846



MOY – The treasurer of Moy relief committee acknowledges, with thankfulness, the following sums subscribed on the 9th instant, at the meeting in Moy: -


The Earl of CHARLEMONT, £20

Thomas EYRE, Esq., J.P., £20

James Eyre JACKSON, J.P., £20

Mrs. JACKSON, £20

Miss Ann JACKSON, £20

Rev. Michael COYNE, P.P., Moy, £5

Rev. M. O’SULLIVAN, D.D., £2

Rev. Richard WRIGHTSON, Benburb, £2

Rev. John LEECH, Moy, £1

Rev. Hugh MONTGOMERY, Benburb, £1

Dr. CLARKE, Blackwatertown, £1


CHARLEMONT: - The treasurer of the Charlemont relief committee thankfully acknowledges the following sums for the labouring poor in that district: -


Board of Trinity College, £30

Commissioners of Woods and Forests, £20

Lord CREMORNE, £25


Thomas EYRE, Esq., J.P., £10

Rev. James DISNEY, £5

Rev. Michael COYNE, P.P., £5

Rev. John LEECH, £1

James E. JACKSON, Esq., J.P., £5

Miss JACKSON, £5

Miss Ann JACKSON, £5

Rev. M. O’SULLIVAN, D.D., £2

Rev. Richard WRIGHTSON, Beburb, £1

Dr. CLARKE, £1

Captain STORY, 10 shillings

Lieutenant LYLE, 10 shillings

Lieutenant COLOMB, 10 shillings

Mr ANDERSON 17th Lancers, 10 shillings

Rev. Hugh MONTGOMEROY, 10 shillings



November 24 1846


MOY. – The relief committee for the district of Moy thankfully acknowledges the receipt of the following donations, this week for the relief of the poor: -

His Grace the LORD PRIMATE, £10

Rev. Henry GRIFFIN, Clonfeacle glebe, £10

Miss ROLLINS, Moy, £10

Mr. Robert McLELAND, Moy, £5

John CUPPAGE, Esq., Lurgan, £5

John RICHARDSON, Esq., Lislum, £5

James G. RICHARDSON, Esq., True, £5

Rev. Dr. MONTAGUE, Dungannon, £3

Rev. Peter O’NEIL, P.P., Eglish, £3

Walter HORE, Esq. J.P., Benburb £3

Rev. Edward HAZELTON, Wesleyan Minister, Moy, £2

The Misses GREER, Moy, £2

W. McGeogh BOND, Esq., the Argorey, £2

Edward McKEAN, Esq., Benburb, £2

H. J. HOUSTON, Esq., Sixmilecross, £2

Dr. CROTHERS, Moy, £1

Dr. KING, Moy, £1

Dr. DAWSON, Dungannon, £1

Mr. John RUNNET, Benburb, £1

Rev. Samuel SHAW, Independent Minister, Moy, £1

James READ, Esq., Blackwatertown, £1


CHARLEMONT. – The relief committee for Charlemont district thankfully acknowledges the receipt of the following additional donations for the relief of the poor: -

John EYRE, Esq., Maydow, £10

Rev. Henry GRIFFIN, Clonfeacle, £5

Rev. Charles WANRY, Eglish, £3

William OLPHERT, Esq. J.P., £2

James HANNA, Esq., Blackwatertown, £2

James READ, Esq. Blackwatertown, £1

Mr. Wm. PURNELL, Sub Constable of Police, Blackwatertown, 10 shillings