Cos. Tyrone, Donegal, Londonderry & Fermanagh Ireland Genealogy Research

Official Website of the Mailing List


Election of Poor Law Guardians for the Unions of Gortin & Omagh, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland 1839

Extracted from the Londonderry Standard, June 12 1839
Transcribed, compiled and submitted by Len Swindley, Melbourne, Australia


We this day present our readers with the lists of the names of Guardians returned for the several divisions of the Gortin Union by CHARLES McFARLAND, returning officer, as declared by him on the 5th instant, and for those of the Omagh Union as declared by MR. NELIS, returning officer, on Saturday last. For the latter union there were fifteen contests, and consequently much excitement. From what took place, the gentry, and all who wish well for the peace and prosperity of the country, should act together, and in the most marked manner discourage and put an end to the system which has been adopted – so disreputable to the actors, and injurious to the interests of the community.

The persons elected for the Omagh Union were declared in the Court house, Omagh, on Saturday last, by Mr. Nelis, on which occasion he was highly complimented by the HON. W. CLEMENTS for the very creditable and impartial manner in which he conducted the election.



Gortin Mr. Andrew McFARLAND Gortin
Fallaugh Mr. Patrick McANULTY Aughabuoy, Gortin
Crocknabuoy Mr. James McFARLAND Drumlea, Gortin
Glenlark Mr. John BALLANTINE Crockatanty, Gortin
Tranamadan Mr. Alex. McKIMMON Tranamadan, Gortin
Moyle John RODGERS, Esq. Glennock, Newtownstewart
Moyle Mr. John KELLY Strahulter, Newtownstewart
Lislea Mr. Armour McFARLAND Leadin, Gortin
Plumb Bridge Mr. Andrew CAMPBELL Letterbratt, Gortin
Glenrone Mr. Michael ROGAN Castledamph, Gortin
Glenkull John McFARLAND, Esq. Straree, Gortin
Mounthamilton Mr. John O’NEAL Mounthamilton, Gortin
Loughash Samuel JACK, Esq. Lisnarrow, Donemana
Stranagalwilly Mr. John DEERY Stranalgalwilly, Donemana



Omagh Daniel AUCHINLECK, Esq. Omagh
Omagh George BUCHANAN, Esq. Omagh
Mountjoy Forest, East Mr. David SCOTT Tatnagole,Omagh
Mountjoy Forest, West Mr. Wm. RODGERS Lisnacreagh, Omagh
Gortnacreagh Mr. Robt. FULLERTON Gortanigan, Nn-Stewart
Drumbreen Mr. Charles DONNELLY Castleroddy, Omagh
Mountfield Mr. Andrew McFARLAND Ficarry, Omagh
Killyclogher Alexander McCAUSLAND, Esq. Omagh
Loughmacrory Thomas RUTHERFORD, Esq. Carrickmore, Sixmilecross , Omagh
Carrickmore Mr. Samuel JOHNSTON Tyrooney, Sixmilecross
Creggan Mr. Michael QUIN Creggan, Cookstown
Athenry Dean MANN, Esq. Currylodge, Sixmilecross, Omagh
Sixmilecross Mr. John BARCLAY Sixmilecross, Omagh
Mullaghslin Mr. James BUCHANAN Deroran, Sixmilecross, Omagh
Camowen Mr. Andrew HARVEY Lisacopin, Omagh
Beragh Mr. James McFARLAND Beragh, Omagh
Dervaghroy Mr. Samuel MACKEY Legacorry, Omagh
Seskinore Sinclair PERRY, Esq. Seskinore, Fintona
Derrybard Mr. James ANDERSON Derrybard, Fintona
Tattymoyle Mr. Hugh WARNOCK Corbally, Fintona
Fintona Mr. Andrew WALKER Fintona
Fallaghearn Mr. John YOUNG Ednafogarry, Fintona
Tullyclunagh Mr. Richard GRAHAM Rahoney, Fintona
Greenan James SPROULE, Esq. Greenan, Dromore
Dromore Mr. Thomas ALEXANDER Dromore
Camderry Mr. Matt. ANDERSON Mullaghbane, Dromore, Omagh
Drumquin Edward SPROULE, Esq. Burlesfolly Drumquin, Omagh
Mullagharn Mr. James McCASKEY Coolkeeragh, Omagh
Loughmuck Mr. Andw. SPROULE Stroancarbadagh, Omagh
Clanabogan James IRVINE, Esq. Clanabogan, Omagh